
1850
The Temple of Isis at Philae (spelled Philoe by Du Camp) was built on an island 380–362 BC in the Nile. Following construction of the Lower Aswan Dam in 1902, it was reconstructed on a nearby island. This photograph by Du Camp is not only a picturesque image of historically significant ruins but also shows the temple as it looked when still in its original site.